The Seattle Times. Winner of Eight Pulitzer Prizes.


Fri, Oct 31, 2014

WEATHER | TRAFFIC

VIEW SECTIONS

Home


Updated Tuesday, February 12, 2013 at 09:01 PM

Seattle's new women's pro soccer team to start 22-game season April 14

By Joshua Mayers
Seattle Times staff reporter

Reign FC will open the 2013 NWSL season with three games on the road, starting April 14 at the Chicago Red Stars.

Seattle's home opener is May 4 against FC Kansas City at Starfire Stadium in Tukwila.

Twenty-two-game schedules for all eight teams in the new women's professional soccer league were released Tuesday. All 11 Reign FC home games will kick off in the evening; seven will be played on weekends.

Only a July 3 game against the Boston Breakers conflicts with a Sounders FC home game. Another, July 14 against the Washington Spirit, conflicts with a Storm home game.

Season tickets are available at SeattleReignFC.com; game tickets are set to go on sale mid-March.

The NWSL also announced Tuesday that the top four teams in the league will qualify for the playoffs, with semifinals on Aug. 24 and a championship game on Aug. 31.

Notes

• Sounders FC's Eddie Johnson, Osvaldo Alonso, Michael Gspurning and Mario Martinez didn't travel with the team to Arizona on Monday but are expected to join the group before Wednesday's game against New England in the Desert Diamond Cup.

• Midfielder Lebogang Moloto has not been cut from training camp, a Sounders spokesman clarified Tuesday. The supplemental draft pick recently went back to school to finish his degree and is expected to rejoin the team afterward.

• Kickoff for Sounders FC's May 4 road game at Philadelphia has been moved up to 1 p.m. (from 4:30 p.m.). An Aug. 10 road game at Toronto FC will start at 4 p.m. (previously listed as TBD).

Joshua Mayers: 206-464-3184 or jmayers@seattletimes.com.

On Twitter @joshuamayers

2013 Reign FC schedule

All times Pacific

Sunday, April 14: at Chicago Red Stars, at 3 p.m. (Benedictine University Sports Complex)

Sunday, April 21: at Portland Thorns FC at 2 p.m. (Jeld-Wen Field)

Friday, April 26: at FC Kansas City at 5:35 p.m. (Shawnee Mission North High School Stadium)

Saturday, May 4: vs. FC Kansas City at 8 p.m. (Starfire Stadium)

Saturday, May 11: at Sky Blue FC at 4 p.m. (Yurcak Field Stadium)

Thursday, May 16: vs. Washington Spirit at 7 p.m. (Starfire Stadium)

Sunday, May 19: vs. Sky Blue FC at 6 p.m. (Starfire Stadium)

Saturday, May 25: vs. Portland Thorns FC at 7 p.m. (Starfire Stadium)

Sunday, June 9: vs. FC Kansas City at 7 p.m. (Starfire Stadium)

Sunday, June 16: at Portland Thorns FC at 2 p.m. (Jeld-Wen Field)

Sunday, June 23: at Western New York Flash at 1:05 p.m. (Sahlen's Stadium)

Wednesday, June 26: at Boston Breakers at 4 p.m. (Dilboy Stadium)

Saturday, June 29: vs. Chicago Red Stars at 8 p.m. (Starfire Stadium)

Wednesday, July 3: vs. Boston Breakers at 7 p.m. (Starfire Stadium)

Thursday, July 11: vs. Western New York Flash at 7 p.m. (Starfire Stadium)

Sunday, July 14: vs. Washington Spirit at 7 p.m. (Starfire Stadium)

Saturday, July 20: at FC Kansas City at 5:35 p.m. (Shawnee Mission North High School Stadium)

Thursday, July 25: vs. Chicago Red Stars at 7 p.m. (Starfire Stadium)

Saturday, Aug. 3: at Chicago Red Stars at 4 p.m. (Benedictine University Sports Complex)

Wednesday, Aug. 7: at Western New York Flash at 4:05 p.m. (Sahlen's Stadium)

Saturday, Aug. 10: at Washington Spirit at 4 p.m. (Maryland Soccerplex Stadium)

Saturday, Aug. 17: vs. Portland Thorns FC at 8 p.m. (Starfire Stadium)


SECTIONS

Top News arrow

Latest News arrow

Local arrow

Nation & World arrow

Business & Technology arrow

Editorial & Opinion arrow

Sports arrow

Entertainment arrow

Living arrow

Travel & Outdoors arrow

Obituaries arrow


CLASSIFIEDS

Jobs arrow

Autos arrow

Homes & Rentals arrow

More Classifieds arrow